How can I preserve input (text) selection when opening a popup

asked 2013-11-27 15:22:55 +0800

acostache gravatar image acostache
3 1

Hi,

I am quite new to ZK, so I apologize in advance if my question is not as clear as necessary (I might mix up some terms).

My scenario is simple: I have an input field, in which I have some text entered, which gets selected on focus (via an event listener). When I right-click inside the field, I have a popup which opens (a popup is set as the input field's context) and that allows me to perform operations on the input field and others.

My problem is: I would like to preserve the selection on the text when right-clicking inside the field and opening the popup. My code is something like this:

inputElement.addEventListener(Events.ON_FOCUS, new EventListener<Event>() {       
 public void onEvent(Event event) throws Exception {
  ((InputElement)event.getTarget()).select();
 }
});

inputElement.addEventListener(Events.ON_RIGHT_CLICK, new EventListener<Event>() {       
 public void onEvent(Event event) throws Exception {
  //((InputElement)event.getTarget()).select();
  mypopup.open((InputElement)event.getTarget());
 }
});

This unfortunately seems not possible. I have tried (as is commented in the right-click event handler) to force the selection. I know I can't have the popup and the right-click handler working simultaneously (I saw an issue with ZK saying it's like this by design). I also know that there is a property which seems to be what I want, but only for Listbox and Tree: the org.zkoss.zul.*.rightSelect property/attribute.

I am looking to find a Java solution for this if possible, or maybe a property configured/attributed added. Any help is much appreciated.

Best regards and thanks in advance, Andrei

delete flag offensive retag edit

Comments