ZK / JPA / Shiro Security

asked 2011-02-14 15:32:50 +0800

asegner gravatar image asegner
51 1

Hi all, I'm new to ZK and I have been looking for hours on how to integrate these three frameworks but have come up empty handed.

The issue is that when my DAO attempts to call

JpaUtil.getEntityManager()

from within a Shiro realm a nullpointerexception is thrown. I believe its due to Executions.getCurrent() returning null inside a Shiro realm. When I remove Shiro from the equation and access DAO from within the application everything works nicely. I'm initializing jpa util inside zk.xml with

<preference>
		<name>JpaUtil.PersistenceUnitName</name>
		<value>UserService</value>
	</preference>
	<listener>
 		<description>JPA "OpenEntityManagerInView" Listener</description>
 		<listener-class>org.zkoss.zkplus.jpa.OpenEntityManagerInViewListener</listener-class>
 	</listener>

I see a lot on how to configure ZK with Spring Security and copying ThreadLocal items around. Is this the same issue here? Does anyone have any ideas on how to retrieve the EntityManager from within a Shiro realm? Any help is appreciated. thanks!

delete flag offensive retag edit

7 Replies

Sort by ยป oldest newest

answered 2011-02-15 05:40:21 +0800

gekkio gravatar image gekkio flag of Finland
899 1
http://gekkio.fi/blog

Yes, this sounds like a ThreadLocal issue. ZK uses ThreadLocals heavily, so if ZK code is executed in another Thread, the ThreadLocals must be copied.
I'm not familiar with Shiro, but I'm guessing it uses ThreadLocals just like Spring Security. Also, if Shiro uses some kind of custom threading, the ZK ThreadLocals have to be copied into Shiro threads.

First of all: are you using the event thread in ZK?
And which ZK version are you using?
The event thread is disabled by default in ZK 5.x but enabled in previous versions (3.x). If you have the event thread enabled, you'll have to do Shiro ThreadLocal copying (just like in ZK + Spring Security tutorials).