Clearing a form woth constraint="no empty" problem.

asked 2009-12-21 07:10:58 +0800

Fooch gravatar image Fooch
48 2

I have been trying to find an answer to this but have not had too much luck. Maybe I am not familiar enough with the terminology to search well, I am very new to ZK.

I have a form that has all the text and combo boxes have "no empty" constraints on them. The problem I am having, when I enter some information in these boxes and then try to clear them, whether it be because they entered a bunch of junk and want to start over, or they submitted the form and I want it cleared out in case they want to enter another record. But everytime I attempt to clear, the values stay in the boxes and I get error on the first text box saying that I need to have a value in it. "This field may not be empty or have just spaces in it".

Is there any way to clear the form without triggering that constraint?

Thanks in advance!

delete flag offensive retag edit

5 Replies

Sort by ยป oldest newest

answered 2009-12-21 08:22:55 +0800

Rico gravatar image Rico
175 1 1 2

You can (at least for textbox/intbox and so on) use setRawValue("") or setRawValue(null) to avoid the constraint check (or You could disable the constraint while setting the values and the set the constarints again)

link publish delete flag offensive edit

answered 2009-12-21 08:53:09 +0800

Fooch gravatar image Fooch
48 2

Perfect! Thanks alot.

Also, you wouldn't happen to know how to setup custom constraints or how to get those error boxes to go away when your focus changes to another box?

answered 2009-12-21 21:14:52 +0800

henrichen gravatar image henrichen
3869 2
ZK Team

Check this:

http://www.zkoss.org/javadoc/3.6.1/zk/org/zkoss/zk/ui/util/Clients.html#closeErrorBox%28java.util.List%29

answered 2009-12-22 01:10:28 +0800

Rico gravatar image Rico
175 1 1 2