Better error message when zkau response isn't JSON

asked 2016-07-22 12:28:57 +0800

digulla gravatar image digulla
506 5

I'd like a better error message when the responde for /zkau isn't JSON.

I had several cases where network components returned HTML or similar to /zkau requests. In that case, I get this error:

Server can't process request. (']' Syntax Error).

which is bad. As a developer, I can activate tools in my browser to monitor network usage and look at the raw data. Also, the message is wrong; it's the client code in au.js which fails to parse the server response.

When this error happens rarely in production, I can only weep in frustration because I have no way to find out what happened - educating hundreds of office workers how to use web developer tools doesn't scale, especially when the error happens only rarely.

Is there a way to display the buggy server response?

delete flag offensive retag edit

2 Answers

Sort by ยป oldest newest most voted

answered 2016-07-25 07:59:59 +0800

cor3000 gravatar image cor3000
6280 2 7

updated 2017-06-14 08:56:41 +0800

Hi Aaron,

always nice hearing from you :)

As you mentioned the error happens when trying to parse the response into a JSON object. https://github.com/zkoss/zk/blob/8d4561145acd5f950a3adaac900c7b26ce461b37/zk/src/archive/web/js/zk/au.js#L179 and https://github.com/zkoss/zk/blob/8d4561145acd5f950a3adaac900c7b26ce461b37/zk/src/archive/web/js/zk/au.js#L61

The exception is handled in the catch block of onResponseReady: https://github.com/zkoss/zk/blob/8d4561145acd5f950a3adaac900c7b26ce461b37/zk/src/archive/web/js/zk/au.js#L248

This method cannot be overridden easily as it's not public and patching the .js file would be necessary.